The Compulsive Reader: The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

Sunday, July 16, 2006

The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

The Wolves of Mercy Falls is a trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater. The first book is Shiver (2009), the second is Linger (2010), and the third is Forever (2011).

About the books:


Ever since she was attacked by wolves when she was eleven, Grace Brisbane has watched them every winter in the woods. There's one yellow-eyed wolf in particular, the one who saved her, that she can't stop herself from looking for.

Sam lives a fractured life, human in the warm months, but wolf once the weather cools...and he's been watching Grace as well. They've never spoken...until now.

Click here to read my review.


In the last weeks of winter, Sam has stayed human, much to Grace's joy, but the cold still haunts him. Grace is just happy to be with him, even though she knows that their problems are far from resolved. As spring approaches, the new wolves are changing back, even though one of them, Cole, would like nothing more than to lose himself in his wolf form, and Isabel's father is more than willing to help eradicate the wolves in the forest completely. And through it all, Grace is keeping a secret, something that could change everything.

Click here to read my review.


For months, Tom Culpeper has had it out for the wolves. And now he is finally going to do something about them. Sam has finally been "cured", and now he stays human...but now it's Grace who is unstable, and this time she is the wolf in danger in the woods. When Sam and Cole get word of the hunt that Culpeper has orchestrated to finally kill the wolves, they know there's no way to stop him. And so they're forced, with Isabel's somewhat reluctant help, to somehow find a way to not only understand the virus that makes them turn into wolves, but save the entire pack. 

Click here to read my review.

American covers:

No comments: