Quantcast
The Compulsive Reader: For Keeps by Natasha Friend

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

For Keeps by Natasha Friend


Josie Gardner lives with her single mother Kate, who gave birth to her when she was only sixteen. Josie and Kate are close, more like sisters than mother and daughter, and Josie is used to her mother avoiding people from her high school and acting like a teenager herself at times. But then one night, Kate spots the parents of Paul Tucci, Josie's father, and she unravels. Paul has never contacted Kate or Josie since he moved to Arizona with his family before Josie was born, but now with his parents back, both Kate and Josie know it's only a matter of time before Paul shows up as well.

For Keeps is a sweet, eclectic, and meaningful read. Readers who also fans of the TV show Gilmore Girls will see a lot of similarities between the two. Josie is a smart and responsible character, making her an easy to relate to character and someone the reader can look up to. The cast of supporting characters are dynamic and fun (especially Josie's quirky best friend, Liv), and the perfect pacing and humor on every page balances out the rather serious subjects of teenage pregnancy and Josie and Kate's feelings toward Paul's absence for over sixteen years.

In addition to her family issues, Josie also has to grapple with Liv’s crazy (and sometimes reckless) actions, and her budding romance with her crush/semi-boyfriend Matt, which is light and cute, but it seems to take a back seat to all of the family drama once it starts to really unfold, and then pop up again at the end. Nonetheless, For Keeps is well-plotted and keep busy enough to keep readers entertained without ever seeming boring. Fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Susane Colasanti will enjoy this book with about atoning for past mistakes and missed connection, and, most importantly, new beginnings.

Cover Comments: I like this cover a lot. It's sweet and bright, and seems to capture the mood of the book perfectly. Very nice!

For Keeps will be available on April 6th, 2010!

ARC received from publisher.

3 comments:

asamum said...

Thanks for the review, sounds interesting, amother to add to the wishlist *groan*

Krista/Tower of Books said...

I like this cover a lot too, and the book sounds adorable.

Staci said...

I really like this author and can't wait to read this one!