The Compulsive Reader: The Forbidden Library Blog Tour with Django Wexler and Seth Fishman!

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The Forbidden Library Blog Tour with Django Wexler and Seth Fishman!

Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Django to Seth: In Ender’s Game would Mia wipe out the Buggers, in the final battle? What about Brayden?

This is a bit of a spoiler no? Ender’s Game is one of my favorite, and I think Ender Wiggin and his family are amazing characters in that they are what we can never be. While I think that Mia Kish, the main character in The Well’s End, has a remarkable amount of empathy for a young woman, I also think with her fears of the dark she'd never be recruited for battle school, sadly. Mia might be too normal to take over command of the human forces. She makes too many mistakes based on human error, like any teenager and Ender is literally designed to thrive in the situations any normal teen might fail. That said, if she did get in, I think she'd do great physically, and probably end up like Petra - not the leader of the troops. And I don’t just say that because Petra is basically the only woman in the school. Mia would be a great sub lieutenant but wouldn’t have it in her to do what Ender did.

Brayden, though... I always like to think that he adapts to all circumstances very well. He'd wipe out the Buggers and no one would trust him ever again.

About The Forbidden Library:
"Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy. 
When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. 
Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. 
It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice."
About Django Wexler: Django Wexler is the author of The Thousand Names. He lives near Seattle, Washington.

About The Well’s End:
Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish's small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world's tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she's only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special.

And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia's dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he's working for the government. But unless Mia's willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she's got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth.
About Seth Fishman: Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey. This is his first novel (that's not in a drawer).

No comments: